Dale Crover recently announced that on August 4th he'll be releasing his solo album "The Fickle Finger of Fate" on Joyful Noise Recordings! Rolling Stone premiered "Little Brother" off the album and also interviewed Dale about the project. Joyful Noise has the album up for pre-order now so act fast to get the special colored vinyl variants!

Introducing, the debut solo album from the enigmatic legend that is Dale Crover. Amongst his 30+ year career as one half of the essential Melvins roster, Crover has contributed to countless albums ranging from platinum-plated classics (ahem, Nirvana) to seminal cult LPs. However, up until this point Crover's solo efforts have only appeared once in a blood moon, limited to the Melvins 1992 KISS-themed solo EP, and a couple intermittent 7" releases. The Fickle Finger Of Fate marks Crover's first calculated, full length solo effort.

But let's be clear: this is not a drum record. The album features a perplexingly diverse batch of songs that recall the best moments of the Melvins catalog. With 90% of all instruments played by Crover, and recorded by longtime engineer Toshi Kasai, the album is sure to tickle the temporal lobes of Melvins devotees.

Sonically, the album ranges from slightly microwaved heaviness, to surprisingly chill Pink Floyd-tinged ballads, to Max Roach-meets-Throbbing-Gristle drum experimentations, to good old fashioned Andy Kaufman-style head-fuckery.

Though consistently otherworldly, The Fickle Finger Of Fate is surprisingly approachable— dare we say, catchy. But even at it's most anthemic, you won't be able to shake the feeling that a sinister ambience is hovering just beneath the surface.


"I think the Joyful Noise guy had a good description which was, uh, it was like Elvin Jones–meets–Throbbing Gristle. ... I'd like to be able to play this stuff live at some point. I actually talked about it with the Joyful Noise guys. We'll see what happens. Either I have to find some players or try to be a one-man-band. I suppose I could go out and play acoustic guitar if I really had to, but it'd be much more fun to have the drums involved and players, you know. I gotta get my daughter up to speed." - Crover

Fickle Finger Of Fate tracklist:

  1. Chicken Ala King
  2. Bad Move
  3. The Members Bounce
  4. None, No More
  5. Hillbilly Math
  6. String Bean
  7. The Short Con
  8. Little Brother
  9. Tiny Sound
  10. Slide On Up
  11. Big Uns
  12. Prismo
  13. Giant Hunka Cake
  14. Fickle Finger of Fate
  15. Thunder Pinky
  16. Horse Pills
  17. There Goes The Neighborhood
  18. Our Supreme Leader
  19. I Found The Way Out
  20. Vulnavia


© 2022 themelvins.net