Hold It In

Started by meezer, February 21, 2015, 08:18:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

meezer

This is a very interesting album, to say the least.
Their first with Jeff Pinkus, of the Legendary Butthole Surfers.
And he even brought along his Butthole buddy, Paul Leary.
Leary brings the signature BHS production style, mixed with the Melvins hard crunch.
The project works well for me, but now that I've been listening to it for 4 months,
I have some observations;

The bass is extremely low (frequency-wise). I usually like this, but it doesn't work quite as well on this one.
I'm getting used to it, but it's a little disorienting, how the Paul Leary "Wall Of Sound" keeps chucking delay at you. I'm not sure that I like the feel of how all of this goes together.
It's like a grumbling tummy. Every time you listen. Not an attribute that keeps me coming back for more.

The treble is shelved pretty low. Dan Halen pointed this out. You combine this with the low bass, this album lives lower on your eq than most everything, other than classic gangsta rap.
You don't get the metallic sheen of the Atlantic years, or even the Kevin or Big Biz eras.
The guitar continues to sound like Freak Puke and Tres Cabrones, which is fine by me.
Many decry the lack of Gibson Les Paul tone and more conventional Marshall stack amplification.
Get used to it, King Buzzo has officially moved out of AC/DC and KISS territory, at least when it comes to his guitar rig. The riffs he's playing are more important to me, and on this album, they're excellent.

The mix of songs, alternating between late model Melvins, Pinkus/ Honky/ Melvins hybrid and Paul Leary LSD -inspired pop flows quite well. It's a Beatles-White Album type of affair. Different songwriters coming together to showcase their abilities, yet exhibiting a cohesive structure, where they all get to add their own flavor to each others songs.

I have my cassette I made of this CD, tracks in this order;